Governance, membership and board:

Membership of DIGIPUB is open to digital only news organizations, freelance journalists and commentariat (those who run a digital news channel or social media handle but may not have an incorporated company). The DIGIPUB board consists of a total of 9 members. 7 (voting) members will represent news organizations, 1 (non-voting) member will be a digital freelancer journalist and 1 (non-voting) member will be from the commentariat category. There will be four office holders – One Chairperson, one Vice Chairperson and two General Secretaries.  All office holders to be picked by board members with a term of 2 years. Board members will be picked through an AGM. 


Term of board:

Only the founding board will have all founding members for a period of two years. Over the next few years the distinction between founders and non-founders will be irrelevant as the board will be open to all members alike. The phasing out will happen as follows. Board will constitute:

Current board for 2 years. 

Next 4 years: At least four founding (voting) members and three can be non-founding members.  

Next 2 years: At least three founding (voting) members and four can be non-founding members.

Next 2 years: At least two founding (voting) members and five can be non-founding members.

Year 8 (2028) onwards, at least one founding member and six can be non-founding members.


If the ownership (control) of any of the founding organisations changes, the organisation under new ownership will reapply and unless otherwise decided, be reinstated and stay as a founding member.